Savvy Family Time

A guide to getting started with Magic: The Gathering

What is Magic: The Gathering? Magic: The Gathering is a collectible card game that was released in 1993 by Wizards of the Coast. It revolves around a variety of different fantasy-themed characters, creatures, and worlds, with the main goal being to cast spells or summon creatures to defeat your opponent. Each set contains cards that you can only acquire through opening packs – these packs can be opened at stores or through mail order from certain vendors like Amazon. Players build their decks by collecting cards they find attractive and mixing them together into one cohesive deck over time.  If you’re looking for a fun and challenging way to spend your time, then MTG might be the perfect game for you.

To start you will need to learn everything from the basics of the game to the different formats and strategies available. Below we’ll also discuss the various sets, cards, decks, and mechanics associated with playing this fun game and make sure to check out MTG Phyrexia – which is one of the most popular formats in the game today.

You can also purchase single packs of MTG cards, which is more economical and affordable, especially if you are on a budget. This will make it easier to keep up with changing trends and ensures that you are able to easily get what you need without having to purchase in bulk. Keep reading to learn more and get a team together top play with you and you may end up the master duelist! Keep in mind that there are two main formats, Standard and Modern, which you’ll need to know about before you start playing MTG yourself.

So what are the two formats?

-Standard Format: The Standard Format is a format in which you get to use cards printed between January 2009 and March of 2019 with any expansions released before September 24th, 2019, as well as any sets that come after that date. 

-Modern Format: The Modern Format is a format in which you can only use cards printed after March 1996. So why did they make this change? To make it more fair for new players who don’t have access to older cards, and also because so many old cards were no longer viable by 2003 that it was felt it was necessary to give players a chance to play with the cards they were most familiar with.

What are the most powerful red cards?

Red cards that have the potential to turn the tide of a game are among the most powerful and sought after cards in Magic: The Gathering. Top contenders include Chandra, Torch of Defiance, Goblin Guide, Flameblast Dragon and Lava Spike as these cards possess quick damage-dealing ability or card draw capabilities that can help you gain an advantage over your opponent.

What are the most powerful blue cards?

Out of all the blue cards available, Lightning Strike; Master of Waves; and Spreading Seas are undoubtedly some of the most powerful. Lightning Strike is an instant that deals three damage to any target for a mere one mana cost. Master of Waves provides a great defensive wall with its token generating ability and also offers card draw when it’s targeted by a spell or ability. Finally, Spreading Seas allows you to put an Island onto any opponent’s land, providing an excellent way to slow down your opponents’ strategies while adding another Island to your own field.

What are the most powerful black cards?

Among the most powerful black cards, Liliana, Death’s Majesty and Ixalan’s Binding stand out for their immense capabilities and strategic advantage in any game. Liliana, Death’s Majesty is especially renowned for its ability to force opponents to sacrifice creatures, whereas Ixalan’s Binding can be used to prevent an opponent from casting any enchantment or artifact spells.

Understanding The Basics Of Magic: The Gathering

State 1 ~ Choose players. Understand that two or more players — but usually only two — square off against one another. You can play games where you fight against two or more players, but the most common way to play is by squaring off against a single player.

Step 2 ~ Assemble different cards into a deck. Your deck is your army, your arsenal. In a “constructed” deck — one that you might use to play friends in an informal setting — the minimum amount of cards is 60, with no upper limit. Players, however, usually choose to stick to the minimum of 60 cards. 

*In a tournament setting, you might play a “limited” deck, which has a minimum number of 40 cards, with no upper limit.

*A player’s 60- or 40-card deck is also called their library.

Step 3 ~ At the beginning of each game, have each player draw 7 cards from their library. These 7 cards compose a player’s “hand.” At the beginning of each turn, a player draws one card and adds that card to their hand. 

*When a player discards a card, uses a card, or when a creature dies or a spell is destroyed, that card is put in a player’s graveyard. The graveyard is a face-up pile that players usually place adjacent to their library.

Step 4 ~ Know that each player starts with 20 points of life.
 During the course of a game, a player can gain or lose life. Generally, having more life is better than having less life.

*Players deal “damage” to both creatures and to each other. Damage is dealt either by creatures or by spells. Damage is measured by the number of hit points it causes.

*If player one deals 4 damage to player two, player two loses 4 life. If player two started out with 20 life, she now was only 16 life. (20 – 4 = 16.)

Step 5 ~ Avoid the three ways a player can lose. A player has lost the game when that player loses all of there life, or runs out of cards in their deck to draw, or has 10 poison counters. 

*When a player’s life total is at or below 0, that player has lost.

*When, at the beginning of their turn, a player can no longer draw any cards from his or her library, that player has lost.

*When a player has received 10 poison counters, that player has lost.

Step 6 ~ Incorporate different colors into your deck:
 White, Blue, Black, Red, and Green.

*White is the color of protection and order. The symbol of white is a white orb. White’s strengths are a host of small creatures that collectively become powerful; life-gaining; reducing the powers of opposing creatures; and “equalizing” cards that wipe large swaths of cards off the board.

*Blue is the color of deceit and intellect. The symbol of blue is a blue water drop. Blue’s strengths are drawing cards; taking control of opponents cards; “countering,” or negating opponent’s spells; and “flying” creatures or creatures that cannot be blocked.

*Black is the color of decay and death. The symbol of black is a black skull. Black’s strengths are destroying creatures; forcing opponents to discard cards; making players lose life; and returning creatures from graveyards.

*Red is the color of fury and chaos. The symbol of red is a red fireball. Red’s strengths are sacrificing resources for great power; dealing “direct damage” to players or creatures; and destroying artifacts and lands.

*Green is the color of life and nature. The symbol of green is a green tree. Green’s strengths are powerful creatures with “trample”; the ability to regenerate creatures, or bring them back from the graveyard; and getting lands faster.

So what do you think?! These are simple steps to get you started but you can research online to learn more in terms of strategies and more. Playing Magic: The Gathering is the perfect way to have some fun with your own MTG loving child or bestie and it is lots of fun once you get the hang of it. This Guide can get you started and help to teach you the lingo of the game so that your child can delve into it deeper for you and you can successfully follow along and make some wins! Most importantly have fun spending time together!